Workspace Sync in Vault

A question that we often get when talking to clients about Vault is “What’s the best way to handle my local working folder?” They don’t want that folder filling up with files and taking up unnecessary space on their hard drive. After all, storing files is what Vault is for, right?

Some users like to utilize the “Close files and delete working copies” option from the Vault’s Check In dialog box.

Others may just periodically delete the entire contents of their working folder just to keep it clean. These two options don’t give you much say in what stays local and what doesn’t. Unless you want to spend a lot of time and thought on it, it’s more of an all or nothing approach. Turns out there is a better way that has been around for a while.

The Workspace Sync command is perfect for this task.

Quick Sync is the same command but will just use the default settings.

Let’s go through this process and see what happens.

The first window shows files and their status. From here if there are particular files you don’t want touched you can just uncheck them.

What are the different status you might see?

  • Download – New: Maybe you’ve got a drawing that’s been updated but the parts on the drawing are not in the local workspace. Those files will be downloaded from Vault.
  • Download – Overwrite: Depending on your settings, these files are local but will be overwritten with the latest version or revision of the file.
  • Expired – Unmanaged:┬áThese files have not been checked into Vault yet. They also haven’t been modified within the time frame set in the settings.
  • Expired – Managed: These files are in the Vault, but they haven’t been modified within the ┬áspecified time frame either.
  • Expired – Hidden: Old visualization files that are in the Vault but haven’t been modified within the given time frame.

Those are the explanations written out in my own words. Please check out the Vault Help page for the official descriptions.
http://help.autodesk.com/view/VAULT/2018/ENU/?guid=GUID-0CE7940A-FB90-436D-9E95-9FD283F048FD

In the bottom right of the window (above the Help button) is the settings button.

Let’s break down each section and see what each is talking about.

Update file in Workspace to…: When files are updated, what do you want them updated to. The latest version, revision, and do you want the Released Biased versions of the files.

Auto-delete Filters: Use or create rules based on file extensions that will automatically delete files with those descriptions.

Expiration Settings: For files that are in Vault (Managed) and files that are not in Vault (Unmanaged), set the expiration time for them. If they have not been modified with the set time, they will be deleted.

Expiration Overrides: You can add to the list any files and folders you don’t want deleted, regardless of the Expiration Settings.

The last check box will do just as it says and remove any empty folders. The two buttons below it are for exporting and importing these settings.

Once you click OK and Finish on the previous window you are given the results of the sync with options to save this report in a few different ways.

Again, if you are okay with the default settings feel free to use the Quick Sync command.

So get out there and keep that local working folder clean in a more intelligent way!!